Introduction

My name is Michelle Ward and I have just started my third year in New Media and English in the University of Limerick after spending a year away. I spent six months working in Leuven in Belgium and spent another five months studying in the Hanzehogeschool University of Applied Sciences in Groningen in the Netherlands. This was a great experience as I got to spend a lot of time travelling and experiencing different cultures.

I am now studying five modules, which includes two English Literature modules, a Research module, a Technical Writing module and teaching English as a Foreign Language. This blog will focus on my Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) module and the challenges that come with teaching for the first time. I will also explain the different factors involved in language teaching and how I can apply what I have learnt to my current studies. This will be an ongoing blog where I will reflect on the different things I learn as part of my current studies in language teaching. I will post regularly about what I learn as part of the module, including teaching methods, teacher roles and other topics that are covered in the course.

In my next blog post I will outline further why I am focusing on my TESOL module for my reflective learning blog.

Leave a Reply

